WHAT

books, interviews, articles...

 

MADDIE

medea6-e1441173788240.jpg

This dark, literary, psychological thriller recasts Euripides' timeless classic Medea in NYC's fast-paced TECH start-up culture.

 

Maddie is the estranged daughter of a rich, Kentucky businessman, working a ho-hum life in a local café. She meets Jason, an ambitious Comp Sci PhD graduate student from Ireland, with a white-hot start-up idea he's sure will make them both millions. After Maddie's father dies, Maddie puts her own dreams aside and plows her entire family inheritance into Jason's fledgling business.

When the pair moves to NYC, the disaster begins almost immediately. The business flounders. The inheritance money begins to vanish. Worse, Maddie suspects Jason might be keeping secrets from her, maybe hiding an affair.

Maddie, meanwhile, has secrets of her own. Her dark past, unknown to Jason, includes brief outbursts of anger, when Maddie has struck back in terrifying manner at those who've crossed her. She has struggled for years to avoid such outbursts again, and to keep them under wraps.

After three years and two children in New York, at a Christmas Party, Maddie finds out the truth about Jason's lies. When she confronts him, he presents her with a draconian divorce, thinking he will soon ride off into the sunset, leaving Maddie in the lurch. Maddie, facing the collapse of her family, her finances and the most searing of marital betrayals, sets a shocking payback into motion.

A terse tale, set in the booming, high-intensity tech space, MADDIE takes on betrayal and vengeance as few other books do. Fans of Michael Lewis and Malcolm Gladwell will appreciate the insider’s portrait of today’s winner-take-all start-up hustle culture. Meanwhile, fans of Gillian Flynn’s Gone Girl and A.S.A. Harrison’s The Silent Wife will revel in the psychology of a wife’s intricate deception on her way to a breath-taking, cold-blooded revenge.

The author’s 10 years on Wall Street and in Silicon Valley as a news reporter, combined with his passion for retelling the classics, make for razor-sharp take on a timeless tragedy. Set over the course of a single day,  MADDIE breathes fresh life—and a new, twist ending—into Euripides’ haunting myth of Medea.